This Week In Releases: From Everything Everything To Black Honey

Everything Everything. Credit: Line Of Best Fit.

Featuring tracks from Everything Everything, Black Honey, and LARRY PINK THE HUMAN, FUZZY digests the biggest tracks of the last week (and a bit).

1. Black Honey - 'Beaches'

Label: Self-released

Release Date: 29th July 2020

Rating: 8/10

Black Honey surprised us with this release. Considering the loss of former drummer Tom Dewhurst late last year, many fans were not anticipating new music from the Brighton-based band so quickly. Deleting all posts from Instagram a few days before the release of new track 'Beaches', the quartet certainly roused suspicion. This doesn't disappoint: with its punchy guitar chords and alluring lyrics, it is distinctly Black Honey but demonstrates clear musical progression. We're digging the sax.

2. Everything Everything - 'Violent Sun'

Label: Infinity Industries/AWAL Recordings

Release Date: 28th July 2020

Rating: 7/10

'Violent Sun' is a standard Everything Everything track. Telling an archetypal EE story about witnessing the end of the world with the one you love, frontman Jonathan Higgs reveals: “it’s the last song of the night and the last song of your life”. The lyrics are certainly very touching: "Lunatic or an error / Or a prisoner of your terror / I'm too old to be crying out." Interestingly, two pieces of the RE-ANIMATOR puzzle, 'Violent Sun' and 'Planets', use metaphors relating to the solar system, and, as is also the case with 'In Birdsong', the breakdown feels very Radiohead-esque.

3. Poppy - 'Khaos X4'

Label: Sumerian Records

Release Date: 28th July 2020

Rating: 7/10

Previously described as the figurehead of a "post-genre world", Poppy is the queen of weird. That is not a radical statement, and this track is no different. Guitar-driven, 'Khaos X4' is a taster of I Disagree (More), due for release on the 14th of August. There's a lot going on here, so we would recommend sitting down with a clear head for this one.


Label: Brainsoup

Release Date: 23rd July 2020

Rating: 9/10

A project by Laurie Vincent of Slaves and producer Jolyon Thomas, 'PURPOSE BUILT' is the third track from LARRY PINK THE HUMAN. Vincent has embarked on a myriad of creative avenues, both musical and artistic, and LPTH is certainly one of the most exciting. With a sound which is distinctly divergent from that of the punk rock duo Slaves, this project is both dynamic and fresh. 'PURPOSE BUILT' is both tender and heartfelt, and we're certainly excited to experience the next sonic avenues LARRY PINK THE HUMAN explore.

5. Bloxx - 'Off My Mind'

Label: Chess Club/AWAL Recordings

Release Date: 22nd July 2020

Rating: 8/10

'Off My Mind' is the third track from Bloxx's debut album, Lie Out Loud. It certainly follows the typical structure of a Bloxx song, but this doesn't detract from how catchy it is. Fee Booth is a compelling lyricist, and hearing a gay frontwoman sing about loving women is refreshing amidst the sea of straight, white men currently fronting indie bands. To the future!

Words by Eleanor Noyce.

30th July 2020.

  • Twitter
  • Spotify